Governor Shumlin Does Not Hear You

More than 24000 Domestic Violence Calls in 2013

Dear Friends,

If you didn’t see the Governor’s comments on the news last night, this clip is worth watching. From WCAX: He says voters sent him a message to act on property taxes and education costs, not gun laws or picking the state dog and vegetable. ‘I just don’t know very many Vermonters who come up to me and say, ‘You know governor, all of my problems are because Vermont’s gun laws aren’t serving us well.’ It’s not something I’m getting; so let’s focus on the things Vermonters asked us to get done.”

The phone number at the Governor’s office is (802) 828-3333. Let’s let Governor Shumlin know that those 12,000 petition signatures we delivered two weeks ago were actual Vermonters asking him to take action on this issue!

And thank you to all of you who stepped up to share yesterday’s fact in support of criminal background checks. Lawmakers are appreciative of your efforts and saying “Please encourage more to write,” — and given the rhetoric used at last night anti-criminal background check rally it’s essential that we keep making our voices heard!

Ann Braden
http://www.gunsensevt.org/

*********************
Today’s Fact of the Day:

In 2013 in Vermont, abuse victims seeking help made 24,000 calls to the state domestic violence crisis hotline — an increase of 138% over the previous two years.

Source: State of Vermont, Domestic Violence Fatality Review Commission Report, 2014, 

http://ago.vermont.gov/assets/files/Criminal/2014%20Domestic%20Violence.pdf

*********************

On behalf of these families we can’t afford to ignore our domestic violence problem and allow abusers to have easy access to guns. Please share this fact with your lawmakers right now. (Direct links to lawmaker e-mail addresses are below.)

Please drop us a quick e-mail letting us know that you’ve reached out to your lawmakers.

Thank you!
Ann

P.S. Here is the VTDigger article about yesterday’s rally at the statehouse against criminal background checks.

P.P.S. Here are the basic steps for sharing the fact of the day with your lawmakers.
1) Highlight the fact of the day, and use the right-click button to copy it.
2) Click on the e-mail address of one of your lawmakers and right-click inside the e-mail body to paste it.
3) Add a personal message from you for your lawmaker.
4) Highlight your full e-mail text before you send it, and right-click to copy it. Then press send.
5) Click on each of your other lawmakers’ e-mail addresses and right-click to paste your e-mail text into the box that pops up. Send each one as you go.
P.P.P.S. Here are direct links to each of the lawmakers’ e-mail addresses. If you’re not sure what district you’re in, you can use the statehouse website to search for your lawmakers based on the town where you live.

Windham District Sen. Rebecca Balint bbalint@leg.state.vt.us
Windham District Sen. Jeanette White jwhite@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-1 Rep. Michael Hebert mhebert@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-2-1 Rep. Valerie Stuart vstuart@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-2-2 Rep. Mollie Burke mburke@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-2-3 Rep. Tristan Toleno ttoleno@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-3 Rep. Carolyn Partridge cpartridge@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-3 Rep. Matthew Trieber matrieber@gmail.com
Windham-4 Rep. David Deen ddeen@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-4 Rep. Michael Mrowicki mmrowicki@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-5 Rep. Emily Long elong@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-6 Rep. Ann Manwaring amanwaring@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-Bennington Rep. Laura Sibilia lsibilia@leg.state.vt.us
Windham-Bennington-Windsor Rep. Oliver Olsen oolsen@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor District Sen. John Campbell jcampbell@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor District Sen. Richard McCormack rmccormack@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor District Sen. Alice Nitka anitka@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-1 Rep. John Bartholomew jbartholomew@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-1 Rep. Donna Sweaney dsweaney@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-2 Rep. Mark Huntley mhuntley@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-3-1 Rep. Leigh Dakin ldakin@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-3-2 Rep. Alice Emmons aemmons@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-3-2 Rep. Robert Forguites rforguites@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-4-1 Rep. Teo Zagar tzagar@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-4-2 Rep. Kevin Christie kchristie@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-4-2 Rep. Gabrielle Lucke glucke@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-5 Rep. Alison Clarkson aclarkson@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-Orange-1 Rep. Sarah Buxton sbuxton@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-Orange-2 Rep. Timothy Briglin tbriglin@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-Orange-2 Rep. James Masland jmasland@leg.state.vt.us
Windsor-Rutland Rep. Sandy Haas shaas@leg.state.vt.us

 

What dost thou say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s